Ukulele!

I have a weird sort of musical habit: I am a 4-string junkie. I’ve played the violin since childhood (and still play it, both electric and traditional). I taught myself to play the viola (mostly because I just sort of felt like it). When I found the usual 6-string guitar too darn difficult, I discovered the wonder of the tenor guitar and fell in love (a love deep enough to support both an acoustic tenor and a massive steel resonator tenor). I’ve mucked about with the mandolin for a while now, and recently stepped up to the octave mandolin (which sounds oooooh so cool). I also recently decided that it would be good for me to learn to play the bass, and Dashing el Deano* the electric/acoustic monster is in the process of teaching me to do so.

Dashing el Deano

It’s fun! Four Strings Good! I’m not particularly good at any playing of them but the violin and the viola, to be honest, but I’m steadily improving. I can fake competence on the tenor and the mandolin pretty well so far. I can play simple bass parts, and it’s kind of a hoot, really. What’s next? What’s missing? There are more 4-stringed wonders to behold, but after I got the bass, I decided that I would hold off on further acquisitions until after I’d acquired more skill with the instruments currently in my possession.

My brother, who is very cool, decided I needed one more right now anyway: the ukulele. So he sent me one.

And this is what happened.

Heh.

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in music, YouTubification. Bookmark the permalink.