Diary of a Possibly Stupid and Impossible Project, Part 3: In Which Small Progress Is Made

Now that I’ve got something like the intro to the song figured out, I’m beginning to realize that percussion is going to be the bit that decides how the rest of the tune will go. I suspect it’s going to be six kinds of funky and four kinds of weird once I get the vocals in (I plan to make the vocals as daffy as I can). I’m not going to alter the bass sound much — it’ll be fine amplified and filtered a bit. The fiddle sounded just fine left to its own devices, but I decided to screw with it anyway to create a stranger sound. I can’t really do anything about the missing piano bits (although I’m thinking of filling them in on the octave mando, just for giggles).

For now, enjoy the wackitude that is the first test version of the intro (with only fiddle, bass, and percussion):

Oh, yeah, baby.
Oh, yeaaaaahhhhhhh.
I am out of my ever-lovin’ mind. And possibly a bit tone-deaf…
About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in Diary of a Possibly Stupid and Impossible Project, Garage Band is the BOMB. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Diary of a Possibly Stupid and Impossible Project, Part 3: In Which Small Progress Is Made

  1. teledude says:

    Whoa…impressive!

    Like

  2. Heh. It's pretty silly, really, but it's fun! This is the easy part. I need to wait on my electric tenor to do the Devil's solo, and I'm going to need most of April to practice the remaining fiddle parts…except where I can just cut the intro in again. :) Hooray for Garage Band and the ability to cheat a bit!

    Like

  3. Scott says:

    that sounds really good! Mongo impressed!

    Like

  4. Thanks, Scott! It's a little too *clean* for fiddlin', but if I go all Hooked On Classics on this thing (which may be the plan), it'll do. Garage Band and I are set to make the sounds go whooooosh and wheeeeeee and yudiuhsdfhsfkjhk!

    Like

Comments are closed.