Haunted and Haunting

This weekend, I had the opportunity to play my humble fiddle with the Fort Dodge Area Symphony, and I was once again able to enjoy the pleasure of wandering around the marvelous, creepy castle that is Phillips Middle School (whose auditorium hosts the symphony’s concerts).

Old School (1)

It’s a grand old building with a labyrinthine interior floor plan and lofty ceilings, and it is allegedly haunted. I love wandering through the place, especially when it’s empty and silent; one imagines that when the kids are in, the halls must be deafeningly loud as their voices and footsteps echo all around. There’s always a sense of something waiting just ’round the corner or through some strange door (and all of the doors are…strange).

Old School (3)

I always feel like I’m being watched when I walk those ringing, empty halls (an impression bolstered by the signs informing visitors that they are on camera). The very quality of the light is uncanny in that building, and it’s worth a visit just to find the odd little corners in which that light moves.

Old School (6)

I’ve never seen the alleged ghost, but I can see why people claim it exists — the space lends itself well to the feeling of presence.

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.