365 Days of the Unoriginal, Day 5: Prog!

It’s the first Monday of my summer “break,” and I’m already busy, so I thought I’d offer another blast from the past (or, you know, January) before getting to another newer recording tomorrow. Today’s cover comes from a show I played with Jimmy Davis & Friends (hint: I’m one of the friends). As a group, we’ve been working on a progressive rock show, and it’s been a lot of fun (when we can all find the time to practice, that is!).

We’ve already learned and performed some Yes and Kansas (among others), and it’s a fascinating thing to me. This is music I love, but I haven’t honestly got the skills to contribute to the really interesting stuff about it (the instrumentals). I have the relatively easy part — I sing. :) This is a case in which the covers we do are relatively faithful to the originals — the point of the exercise is a kind of tribute to progressive rock. It’s some amazing stuff to learn, musically speaking, and the guys in the band are pretty freakin’ awesome.

Have a listen to a song that’s always been a favorite of mine: “Carry on Wayward Son” by Kansas. There’s some pretty cool Yes later to come, so stay tuned!

Of course, half the fun of this particular video is the weirdo who videobombed it late in the song…:)

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, covers, Jimmy Davis and Friends, YouTubification. Bookmark the permalink.