365 Days of the Unoriginal, Day 8: Pickin’ Time in Oz

I cannot for the life of me remember how I discovered Lynn Miles. I think perhaps it might have been an accident, something I came across while I was looking for something else. I am heartily glad to have found her, though, because she’s kind of amazing! She’s yet another entry in my Obsession with Musical Canadians (headed by Stan Rogers, at present), and she writes some fascinating tunes. I’ve actually been brave enough to try covering two of them, but there are dozens more worth having a shot at, and they’re on my list.

The first one I tried (the first one I fell in love with, actually) is a song called “Surrender Dorothy” — it’s simply amazing, I think — sweet and sad and powerful. I wish I had the skills on the 6-string to play it properly. Instead, a while ago, I used it as an excuse to learn to do a little fingerpickin’ on the tenor guitar. I’d never tried anything of the kind before, and had no idea how it ought to work, so I just…faked it. :) It turned out reasonably well, for a first try at pickin’. I just sat myself down in front of the Flip and went for it.

The pickin’ and singin’ thing is freakin’ impossible, people. How anyone also adds harmonica to it I have no clue. Also: I kind of suck at the pickin’. Still, it was a good start.
About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, covers, YouTubification. Bookmark the permalink.