365 Days of the Unoriginal, Day 15: Old-School Ukulele Twangage

So, as Ukulele Week continues apace, I find myself returning to an old love of mine: the classic country brilliance of Patsy Cline. I love her voice, her choice of songs, her skill at interpreting a song, her whole attitude. She occupies that interesting historical and musical place between really twangy country, jazz, and blues. Her music is the music of heartbreak and desire and sometimes a kind of bitter joy and irony. It isn’t big music — she doesn’t do the diva ride, and her songs don’t depend on the kind of drama that comes from wild sounds. Her drama is the drama of a real life, the sadder-but-wiser kind, the kind that belongs more to the history of the blues than to anything else.

So, obviously, I had to cover a Patsy Cline standard on the ukulele. Because nothing says “sadder but wiser” like the ukulele.

What?

I decided to keep this one simple, so I just sat down in the ol’ foyer and got on with it once I learned the chords on the uke. The best take, as usual, was the one with at least one lyric flub, but it wasn’t so bad, so I rolled with it. I used the condenser mic run through the Mackie to Garage Band on the Mac to get the sound I wanted; all I did in GB was double for stereo, apply the Male Basic vocal settings for effects, and that’s it. The sound on the original video (filmed using PhotoBooth on the Mac) wasn’t bad, actually, but I liked the slightly cleaner stuff I got from Garage Band a little better, so I dubbed it over the sound on the video. I’m slowly getting the hang of the sound tech, little by little.

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, covers, Garage Band is the BOMB, YouTubification. Bookmark the permalink.