365 Days of the Unoriginal, Day 16: Slightly Uncomfortable Revelations

To close Ukulele Week, I decided it was time to go a little weird, and covered a fascinating little a-ha song called “Velvet,” in what may possibly be one of the silliest cover attempts I’ve made yet.

Apparently, it isn’t really supposed to be a love song about a sexy, sexy ukulele. Who knew?

I am baffled by this, as it renders my entire interpretation of the song kind of, well…creepy.

Not quite as creepy as the corpse of Pal Waaktar-Savoy playing the guitar, of course (see the video linked above)… OK, maybe just as creepy, but in a different, “weird obsession with an inanimate object” sort of way.

I got a bit ridiculous with the reverb on this one, mostly because I thought it would be fun. :) This was also the first time I ever recorded a song at one speed (70) and then had Garage Band zoom the whole thing up to a whole new speed (77). I’m pretty pleased with how little the sound seems to have been distorted by the speed change.

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, covers, Garage Band is the BOMB, YouTubification. Bookmark the permalink.