365 Days of the Unoriginal, Day 17: Sixy Sixy!

It’s been a busy week (and will be a busier weekend), so I’m hitting the wayback machine up for some older material to tide the blog over ’til Monday, when I should have some new material finished.

A few months back, I finally sucked it up and invested in a 6-string guitar (after more than a year of complaining that only 4 strings would do). I had always been intimidated by traditional guitars. I had tried to learn how to play one when I was in high school, and at the time I just didn’t get anywhere with it — it was too much neck, too many strings, and just too hard for me to figure out on my own (I didn’t have the good sense to ask for lessons). I finally came back to learning it now, as a Woman of a Certain Age, after a year or so on the tenor guitar got my hand in shape. I tried to play my crappy little baby 6-string guitar, and discovered that I could actually do something with it.

So I got myself a decent beater of an entry-level Epiphone dreadnought, gave myself a crash course on chord shapes for 6 strings, and started looking for songs to learn. I adapted a few of the tunes I had already learned on the tenor, but what really turned out to be satisfying was trying songs on the 6-string that simply hadn’t sounded that good on the tenor. On the Epiphone, some songs just sounded fuller.

The first song I attempted to record with the Epiphone was another Lynn Miles tune that I really like, “Black Flowers.” I couldn’t (and can’t yet) play it quite the way she does, and the key she sings in is really a bit too high for me, so I adapted it a bit. The sound is just whatever the Flip picked up (so, kind of obnoxious), but it didn’t turn out too badly for a first try.

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, covers, YouTubification. Bookmark the permalink.