365 Days of the Unoriginal, Day 22: More Hair of the Ukulele That Bit Me

As I mentioned back on Tuesday, I’ve been a bit crunched for music time this week (life intrudes, as it often does, on even poor attempts at art), so I did a couple of “just sit down and have at it” sessions with the trusty ukulele. Tuesday’s pale attempt at a Gillian Welch cover was the first; today’s foray into Songs Everyone On The Planet Has Had A Shot At On YouTube is Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova’s sweet (and yes, over-done) “Falling Slowly.” You know a song has sort of hit its sell-by date when it’s performed anywhere near American Idol, and this one…well, that was last year.

Still, any port in a storm and all that. I like the song — I learned it a while ago, in another context, and quite enjoyed it. So I figured I could do worse than to learn a few really easy chords and plug through singing a tune I already know reasonably well. The result is, perhaps, a bit hammy. :) It was more fun to play than I thought it would be. UKULELE!!!!!

Nothing fancy about the recording on this one — just me and the uke, sitting in front of the condenser. I’m finding that for just capturing the room, the instrument, and my voice (especially in lower ranges), the Male Basic preset in Garage Band is surprisingly effective, and I’m quite liking the sound of it. I thought about trying to do the harmony vocal in another track, maybe adding some violin, etc. etc., but I left it as is. I think I kind of like it without the other stuff, actually. One of these days, I’ll actually learn how to play the ukulele well, and then…well, ha! THEN I get into some ukulele trouble, yes indeedy! For now, this is what you get.

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, covers, Garage Band is the BOMB, YouTubification. Bookmark the permalink.