365 Days of the Unoriginal, Day 23: Tribute or Parody?

I think I am extraordinarily lucky, musically speaking.  I often get to make music with some amazingly cool people, and I get to have huge amounts of fun doing it.

One of the amazingly cool people I get to make music with is my bandmate and fellow jammer Josh (who is now going to have to do something about that swelled head. Don’t get cocky, kid.). Through him, I got the chance to meet his amazingly cool Uncle Paul (they are a pretty musical family), who’s been rocking the singer/songwriter thing all over the place. I’ve had the fortunate opportunity to join those two cool guys in a little musical mayhem on two occasions, and along the way I’ve gotten to learn a couple of Uncle Paul’s tunes. Today’s offering is one of them, a favorite of mine called “Someone Like You.”

It’s actually much more impressive than I made it here, I think — I just sort of approximated it with voice and ukulele (had some rhythm problems…*sigh*), which doesn’t really give the same impression as voice(s) and guitar(s) and occasional harmonica. I cut the instrumental breaks, because, well…yeah. I’m not Jake Shimabukuro, dude. Recorded, as usual, in the foyer, all ukulele and two vocals. Whee!

I wish I could’ve done it better; it might have been nice, for example, to get the lyrics right. Then, when I say “Consider this an elaborate ‘Thank You’ note for allowing me to back up the family band on occasion” it would seem a little cooler. As it is, I can only beg the songwriter to think of this cover offering as the functional equivalent of a small child giving the gift of a misshapen but well-meant clay approximation of an ashtray.

Here! You like? I made this!

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, covers, Garage Band is the BOMB, YouTubification. Bookmark the permalink.