365 Days of the Unoriginal, Day 28: In Which I Punt

In this very busy week, I’ve still tried to make enough time to get some decent covers done. I’ve been sketching and practicing a few different tunes, and I’ve been trying to expand my horizons a bit. It’s all frightfully ambitious. The problem, of course, is that it sometimes just doesn’t work.

Today’s bit, for example, is what I threw together in about a half an hour after two days of intermittent work just turned out crappy. The song is another Patsy Cline special, Imagine That. I really like the song, and I had intended to turn out a slightly crunchier, bluesier electric version of it. I recorded rhythm guitar and bass and vocal, I coordinated a drum loop…and then I listened to it, and I really, truly hated it. I loathed everything about it. It just sounded pathetic. So I canned it, sat down in front of the computer with the mic all set up, and cranked out a too-fast take of me just plowing through the thing on my acoustic guitar.

I don’t regret learning the bass part, and I wish I could’ve gotten the electric version to work, but this’ll have to do. I didn’t alter the sound at all, really — this is just what came through the mixer to the computer. It’s not great, but it’s not too terrible.

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, Garage Band is the BOMB, YouTubification. Bookmark the permalink.