365 Days of the Unoriginal, Day 29: The Moon is Totally Harmless

I’m still working on this electric stuff, so I decided to try another bit of slightly creepy, wobbly guitar action. This time, I also wanted to experiment with percussion for slightly unusual time signatures (in this case, 6/4), which turns out to be kind of annoying to do in Garage Band. Still, I took a shot. The song is (for my local audience, anyway) a bit obscure: a-ha’s Locust, from their 1993 album Memorial Beach. It’s actually pretty complicated — there’s a lot going on in the bass and percussion, never mind the melodic bits, and I’ve always liked the atmosphere of it. My version is (necessarily) quite a lot simpler, but I enjoyed figuring it out, even if I didn’t end up doing all of the complicated stuff.

I thought about trying to replicate the bass line (which I really like in the original) and perhaps throw some violin on this thing, but in the end I stuck to just playing the electric guitar and looping some percussion. I didn’t do the talky bit because, frankly, it sounded Elvis-silly when I tried it, so I found a way to sing it. If I’d had a bit more time, I would’ve done the chorus vocals differently and added an instrumental break, but I decided to skip along. Maybe someday I’ll throw a break in there in a different version.

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, Garage Band is the BOMB. Bookmark the permalink.