365 Days of the Unoriginal, Day 30: In Which The Images Are Literal

Today’s experiment with electricity is a nice, rockin’ 3-chorder, complete with a video slideshow that is, perhaps, a bit too on the nose. The song is the Rolling Stones’ Dead Flowers, which I’ve sung/played before with Josh (me just fiddling and harmonizing, really). The version I recorded owes more to Josh’s arrangement than to the Stones, but I swung some electric guitar and bass and drum stuff onto it (along with the obligatory fiddle solo break). All of the instruments are electric, all run straight through Garage Band — I put the violin and the guitar on the same amp setup, and it worked reasonably well. In the process, I discovered that it’s actually easier for me to play along with a drum track than the metronome click. Huh. Weird.

Anyway, here’s what you get:

I was originally just going to film myself playing the damn song and edit it all together, but I decided I’d rather not do all of that work, so I did a whole lot of other work instead. Because I am an accredited member of the Wedding Industrial Complex, I acquire a lot of dead flowers (in the form of lapel foliage handed out to wedding participants). For some weird reason, I tend to keep them rather than throwing them away, which is why I have a little collection of dried-up plant life. I photographed some of them with various and sundry wacky apps on the iPod and got on with the very literal slideshow. Whee!

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, covers, Garage Band is the BOMB, YouTubification. Bookmark the permalink.