365 Days of the Unoriginal, Day 32: Jamspiration!

One of the neat things about jamming with other musicians (especially when it’s all informal and fun) is that it gives me the chance to learn more songs. It’s just cool to be reminded of a song I’ve always liked and never thought to try, and then to get a chance to jam on it with others. Such a treat!

Another cool thing about jam (with particular reference to my little project here) is that it both gives me a place to try stuff out/get help before I record it and (sometimes) gives me ideas about what to cover. Today’s cover comes directly from fellow jammer (and much more interesting blogger) Matt Voigts, who brought it to our tiny, relaxed acoustic session this past Wednesday and reminded me that I totally love this song: The Church’s Under the Milky Way. It’s been covered a lot, and for good reason.

This time, I just felt like I needed reverb, so that’s what you get. Whee! The track straight from the video was fine, but I wanted a slightly different sound, so GB and I messed about with it a bit. Ther’s some strange feedbacky stuff happening that I left uncorrected because I think the effect is ultimately kind of cool and disturbing — I think it’s caused by my Classic 6 guitar, which was resonating in the background (I’d forgotten that I still had it in the room, and that semi-hollow body sure does ring, given the chance).

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, Garage Band is the BOMB, Jammy Goodness, YouTubification. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 365 Days of the Unoriginal, Day 32: Jamspiration!

  1. Tanya Miller says:

    Wow – great version!! I'm going to reshare on Facebook :)

    Like

Comments are closed.