365 Days of the Unoriginal, Day 33: Something About What Happens…

One comes to like different songs for different reasons. Some songs are just pretty. Others are disturbing in a way that is compelling, or tell good stories, or just happens to fit the mood at the moment. Some are appealing for reasons having to do with the context in which they are heard. They can be appealing at one point in time and repulsive at another, and sometimes we just grow out of or into the music like favorite jeans.

Here’s a not-entirely-successful attempt at covering Lucinda Williams’ “Something About What Happens When We Talk,” a song I appreciate because of the kind of story it tells. The voice of its narrator speaks to me of a sort of magic that can happen in some relationships with people, and it’s pretty sweet.

I didn’t do anything particularly interesting with this one, and the results are only so-so. Mostly, I tried to find ways to use both of my electric guitars (the break, such as it is, was played on my electric tenor) and my electric bass. I also used this one as an excuse to try a 3-part harmony, since I could hear one in the chorus. The percussion’s just loopy stuff from Garage Band. I didn’t vary it much, which is unfortunate — my arrangement of the tune is a bit dull. Still, it isn’t too terrible. :)

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, covers, Garage Band is the BOMB, YouTubification. Bookmark the permalink.