365 Days of the Unoriginal, Day 34 Won’t Stop Sam & Dave From Loving You

I once heard a curious little story about Quentin Tarantino that made me like the guy just a bit more than I otherwise would. Apparently, he has a little test for women he might date: do they know and appreciate the Howard Hawks western Rio Bravo or not? Any woman who can’t get past the Rio Bravo test just isn’t worth his time. I have no idea whether this story is true or not, but I kind of get it (and not just because I happen to agree with him about how awesome Rio Bravo is). I think we’ve all got these little tests, these ways of finding out if the people we’re with are really our people, or just nice folks who we might sortakinda like.

One of mine is musical: Do you or could you know/understand/appreciate/love more than is decent the classic soul stylings of Sam & Dave (with a side serving of Booker T and the MGs)? If you’re not down with Sam & Dave, at least a little, then I don’t think I’ll ever understand you. You have no soul (in either the musical or spiritual senses). We can hang out, but…well, there’s a gulf between us that only Sam & Dave can bridge. Sorry.

I’ve always wanted to perform some of their stuff, but I’m acutely aware that any attempt by me to replicate that stunning live act would be parody at best and bad karaoke at worst. Still, I love their music, so I wanted to try something. I decided to take a simple acoustic shot at  “I Can’t Stand Up For Falling Down,” which has also been covered (in a deliciously, weirdly cheery way) by Elvis Costello. I couldn’t do anything like either version, really, but my main inspiration was the original.

The humidity was screwing with the guitar, which made this one kind of tough to record. This is the last take before my fingers decided they were done with the damn Epiphone already. :) I suppose if I’d had the energy and weren’t in pain, I probably would have arranged the verses just a little differently, but it still sort of works a little.

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, covers, YouTubification. Bookmark the permalink.