365 DotU, Day 43: TradCore II: Electric Boogaloo

Today’s song is a shortened a capella version of a common traditional tune called The Parting Glass, which has been recorded and performed by (I think) every Irish singer/band ever.  I first learned it a while back, after a gentleman at a bar at which I was performing requested it and I didn’t know it. As it turns out, it’s a really sweet sort of tune, no matter how richly or sparsely it’s orchestrated, and I’m glad I learned it. I wish I’d done so sooner!

I did alter the song a bit — I cut the middle verse, which is all about the sweetheart the song’s protagonist would like to court if only he had the cash for it. Otherwise, it’s pretty straightforward.

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in covers, Garage Band is the BOMB, YouTubification. Bookmark the permalink.