365 DotU, Day 50: Other People’s Weddings

As an accredited member of the Wedding Industrial Complex, I spend most of my summers at other people’s weddings. It’s fun, reasonably lucrative work, and it gives me a chance to observe trends and norms in a ritual observance in which I am unlikely ever to be a primary participant. From year to year, I’ve seen unfortunate color selections (the Year of Blinding Pink was pretty tough on the eyes), heard some passionate but painful family member music (ProTip: the fact that your aunt/uncle/cousin/sibling happens to be the star of a church choir does not actually mean that s/he can carry a tune as a soloist), witnessed some bizarre sermons, and encountered some warm and inspired moments (a favorite: having the quartet play “Take Me Out to the Ball Game” as a recessional). I survived the Summer of Infinite Groban and am still struggling through the Age of Constant Mraz (mostly at receptions). It’s really pretty neat, I think. It still bothers me that this happy rite so often turns into an excuse to torment the people whose happiness it is supposed to celebrate, but what the hell. They’ve got the honeymoon the sleep it off. Hurhur.

In recent years, I’ve seen a lot of what I like to think of as the Oscar Retrospective, Starring the Happy Couple — the wedding slideshow/video, usually shown at the reception (at least once, in my experience, during the wedding itself), featuring photographs of the newlyweds from childhood on set to music. Usually, here in the Age of Constant Mraz, they use this song, but sometimes they use this one). If Mr. Mraz ever wants to crowdsource a video for either song, he’s got more than a few years of footage at his disposal, judging by the number of wedding vids I’ve seen.

As I sorted through songs for this week and decided to mess with some Everly Brothers covers, it occurred to me that I had before me a perfect Oscar Retrospective wedding video song (one which I’m sure has been used in this or like capacity at some point): the lovely “Let it Be Me”. I dinked around with it on the guitar and with violins, and then decided that this sucker was made for the ukulele, so I broke out the uke, laid on the schmaltz, and pulled up some appropriate pictures (taken, as it happens, at a wedding reception at which I performed over the weekend).

Awwwwww!

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, covers, Garage Band is the BOMB, Tales from the Wedding Industrial Complex, YouTubification. Bookmark the permalink.