This Just In: Literature In Peril!

James Patterson must be stopped. Now he’s pretending to write books for children. ARGH! Make it stop! Think of the children! I have this apocalyptic vision of the entirety of English-language fiction being corrupted by Patterson’ Patented Writing Apparatus, and it makes me want to read the entirety of every freakin’ Norton Anthology just to clean my brain.

I find myself trying to draw a connection between this form of artistic production and the one I talked about a few posts ago (Rihanna’s “Man Down” as a mass-produced widget). It makes me cranky, so I’m going to stop now and go clean the house.

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.