365 DotU, Day 51: What?

My second Everly Brothers attempt is actually a metacover — it’s an old Jimmy Reed blues tune called “Baby What You Want Me To Do,” which they covered back in the 60s. I first learned it from my bandmate Josh, who thought it might be fun to do for a show (and it was), so this cover’s really sort of a wacky combo of the way I learned it from him (which had slightly different words) and the style the Everlys used to use. What I may do in the future is try this song again with the proper lyrics and some old blues style, like the Buddy Guy/Junior Wells version (which is really my favorite). As it is, the version the Everlys et. al. tend to do is really mostly the choruses, and the way I’ve done it here is much faster and more upbeat.

I really didn’t have the time to record a bass track, which this tune really, really desperately needs. Oh, well. All done now!

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, covers, YouTubification. Bookmark the permalink.