365 DotU, Day 59: Coasting With Miss Cline

Another busy weekend of service to the Wedding Industrial Complex requires me (sadly) to go back to the archives and throw out an old recording again. As a form of compromise, I’ll give you an old audio recording with a new video, though!

The audio, in this case, comes from one of the first solo shows that Laura & Josh ever did: The Gathering Place, 6/18/10. It was a pretty neat performance, and I managed to catch it in a not-too-good recording on my H2. The audience was small and friendly, the space was lovely (really, if you haven’t been to The Gathering Place in Cherokee, IA, you’ve missed something neat — the web site doesn’t do it justice). We did a couple of nice sets of originals mixed with covers, and we had a really good time!

Well, other than the moon falling on Josh — that was a little unnerving.

Today’s selection from that show is our cover of a Willie Nelson-penned song that will forever be connected in the musical consciousness of those who’ve heard it with Patsy Cline: “Crazy.” I’m all awash in Cline right now because I’m fiddling in a musical about her, so it seemed appropriate to pull something of hers for the Challenge. This version has the added charm of some fun guitar pickin’ by Josh (a vast improvement over the many odd guitar noises I’ve been making lately, and no doubt a welcome change of musical pace).

Also worth noting, with gratitude: the first picture in the slideshow was taken by The Amazing Hannah Campbell. The rest are mine, all featuring The Gathering Place; the second one is actually a shot I took on the day of that show, after I got back with lunch to discover that the moon had fallen.

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, Laura and Josh, live music. Bookmark the permalink.