365 DotU, Day 61: Sam and Dave Will Teach You About Empathy

A while back, I mentioned how I felt about the spectacular Sam and Dave. My feelings are unchanged (duh), and I thought it might be interesting to try another one of their tunes on the ol’ guitar: “When Something Is Wrong With My Baby.”

Listening to the guys sing it is actually a lesson in good singing, I think — they’re excellent, and they know their business. This is the kind of music I often listen to when I want to try to practice harmonizing and ornamenting a sound.

I moved the key down 1/2 step to make it easier to play and de-gendered the lyrics with the second person, mostly because I thought it would be interesting. I’m also working on mixing and matching different guitar strumming patterns. If I’d had a bit more time and energy, I probably would’ve picked it differently, but this version’s OK for what it is, I think.
About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, covers, Garage Band is the BOMB, YouTubification. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 365 DotU, Day 61: Sam and Dave Will Teach You About Empathy

  1. meatmeatmeat says:

    Best cover yet (my opinion)! I like it! Like the strum!
    JW

    Like

Comments are closed.