365 DotU, Day 64: Roullette

One of the ways I try to find songs to mess about with for the challenge is by shuffling through my iTunes to see what comes up. Sometimes it’s something impossible (I am NOT doing a cover of anything by Verdi), sometimes it’s something too silly (I have a LOT of musicals in my collection, for some reason), and sometimes it’s just something I don’t particularly feel like doing.

Sometimes, it’s a song I have for reasons I do not remember, and so I take a shot at it. Today’s offering is one of those: “Never Tear Us Apart” by INXS. I have no idea where I got that song. I remember it well enough, but I was never particularly interested in that band or its music. The thing that made me like them a bit, much later on, wasn’t their music. Their reality show, Rock Star: INXS, was my favorite music reality show at the time, mostly because it was so thoroughly different from American Idol (which I believe to be evil). RS: I impressed me for two reasons: its main conceit was that it was about musicians rather than pop icons (which meant that the contestants were being evaluated by and as fellow players rather than as products by producers), and the surviving band members gave the most genuinely helpful and supportive critical feedback I’ve ever seen on one of these competition shows. Of course, for all I know the whole competition was in the bag for JD from the start (he’s a clear Hutchence soundalike), but for the weeks of the competition, the audience got to see some real, live music played by people who were taking the job seriously and who seemed to genuinely love playing. It wasn’t always good, but it was different from the usual Idol crap, and I appreciated it.

Anyhooooo…I went acoustic all over it, and this is the noise that happened.

I suspect that the helpful feedback I’d get from the song’s original creators is “don’t quit your day job, friend,” and they’d be right. :)

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, covers, YouTubification. Bookmark the permalink.