365 DotU, Day 68 Sings A Love Song To A Vampire

The Coppola Dracula film, admittedly, had some problems (many of them related to the acting/casting and some unfortunate interactions between the dialogue and the editing). It was, however, a sumptuous visual delight most of the time, and I love the dedicated use of old in-camera effects. It just looked so damn pretty. The sets and costumes were beautiful, and the lighting…often quite clever. Also: Gary Oldman chewing scenery in almost any context whatsoever = AWESOME, but with that wig? EVEN MORE COMPLETELY MADE OF AWESOME AND WIN.

Ehem.

The soundtrack has in some ways outlived the popularity of the film. For a while in the years after its release, whenever someone needed big-ass dramatic music for an ad or a trailer, they’d just cut in either bits of Orff’s Carmina Burana or, oddly enough, bits of the Dracula score. I can guarantee that there are people out there in the world who have never seen this Dracula  movie, but who have just the same heard a whole lot of the soundtrack, and would find the music familiar.

I wore my old cassette of this soundtrack out a long, long time ago (I went through a soundtrack phase). I especially loved the last track, credited to “Wojciech Kilar feat. Annie Lennox”, a tune called “Love Song For A Vampire.” Most of what made it beautiful, honestly, was (and is) Annie Lennox — her voice is the most amazingly wonderful thing. When I decided to take a shot at it for my 365, it was with a kind of dread. I mean, I’ve tried Annie Lennox stuff before, but…well, my voice is a lot smaller than hers, and this song needs a tone that it isn’t easy to match.

Then I decided to throw caution to the wind, use almost every damned non-electric string instrument in the house that isn’t in the violin family or a ukulele, and went for it.

There are, unfortunately, a bunch of weird noises in the recording that I just got too lazy to remove. Think of them as markers of authenticity.

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, covers, YouTubification. Bookmark the permalink.