365 Days of the Unoriginal, Day 74 Wants You To Come Out To Play

One of the main purposes behind this little challenge of mine is to force me to learn to play some damn songs. It’s also about building some skills on instruments that I don’t play very often and with technology that I’m only beginning to comprehend. With that in mind, I took on another chance to play something like a lead lick — I tried to come up with a creditable acoustic cover of Chris Isaak’s “Wicked Game.” It’s a sexy little song (and I’m not even talking about the original video, which is just chock full o’ eye candy at interesting angles). I didn’t do the lead lick justice, of course, but the simplified version I decided to use didn’t turn out too badly.

Naturally, instead of finding and photographing some hot people, I went with the mind-numbingly literal and shot pictures of games. Why? Because. Deal with it.

I listen to the cover version now and kind of wish I’d gone ahead and added the bass (which I quite like in the original). When I recorded it, I mostly just wanted it to be acoustic guitar and percussion and voices, and the drum loopy bit I used in Garage Band seemed to give me enough bass oomph. Now, I think it’s not enough. Oh, well. I’m too lazy to go back and do it over now!

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, covers, Garage Band is the BOMB, YouTubification. Bookmark the permalink.