365 Days of the Unoriginal, Day 77: Wherever did I leave that heart of gold?

You know, I’m not really a huge Neil Young fan. I mean, I like a lot of his songs, and I have nothing but respect for the guy’s work, but it’s just not music I spend a huge amount of time with. I enjoy it when I do hear it, but…well, I just don’t go out of my way for it (although it really would be worth it to do so). Still, I’m running low of short-prep songs, so I decided to try one that I’ve spent some of that time with (at jams, or backing up other musicians): “Heart of Gold.”

I didn’t do anything really interesting with it, although necessity (i.e., the fact that I cannot play the harmonica) dictated the need to introduce a lot of fiddle fill. It’s not a song that sits well in my voice, so I can’t really do much with it vocally that doesn’t go all karaokewise (bleah). For me, the big fun in learning this one was actually playing the bass part, which is actually kind of cool. This time, although I did everything else acoustic, I wanted the fuller sound I can get from the electric bass, so I pulled out the Hofner (which is always sweet).

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, covers, YouTubification. Bookmark the permalink.