365 Days of the Unoriginal, Day 78: Another Hit From The Request Line!

Alison Krauss has an absolutely beautiful voice. It makes me so green with envy that I look like an enraged leprechaun. Well, in my mind, anyway. I’m too tall to be an enraged leprechaun otherwise. When my friend and Lake Avenue jammate and all-around awesome guy Scott requested a Todd-Rundgren-by-way-of-Alison-Krauss cover this week, I was both happy and intimidated. I dont mind screwing with the songs of people who I couldn’t reasonably be compared to, as a rule, but…well. She makes the kinds of pretty sounds I sometimes really want to make, and I got intimidated. Loud doesn’t intimidate me nearly as much as sweet. Loud is just…well, loud. It takes control, and it takes force, and it takes some good judgment to make it work, but it’s not nearly as hard as delicate work can be. I also don’t get a lot of practice doing sweet — jams and band stuff are usually more about loud, although I get to use the sweeter sounds with some of the small-scale stuff Josh and I write, which is nice.

In short: INTIMIDATED.

Also: I’m currently at a low point on the ol’ learning W on the 6-string guitar, which means that every sound I make on the thing right now makes me want to break my own fingers so I won’t perpetrate further wrongs.

*sigh*

Anyway, the song is “It Wouldn’t Have Made Any Difference,” and this is how it turned out.

I’m always fascinated by the stories in songs. This one’s pretty plain, and pretty sad. How horrible it is to love someone who will never believe, trust, or respect you? It’s a painful thing, and I found myself hoping I could get that pain across without over-hamming it. I don’t think it worked (I simply don’t have that experience to draw from, which is actually OK by me, to be honest), but it’s not too bad, really. The song does most of the work for me.

Thanks for the request, Scott! I got to learn a new song because of you!

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, Garage Band is the BOMB, The Request Line Is Open, YouTubification. Bookmark the permalink.