365 DotU, Day 85 Is Totally Taking A Look At Miss Ohio

As I tried to come up with a song for my next entry in the ol’ Challenge, it occurred to me that I hadn’t yet taken a shot at an old favorite, one I learned to sing with the jam band and with Josh: Gillian Welch’s Look at Miss Ohio. I’ve never been able to play it on the guitar, and it occurred to me that it might be worth it to try.

Of course, as I tried to play it, I discovered that I don’t have quite the guitar chops to make it sound good. I threw in a gratuitous fiddle ride because I couldn’t think of anything else to do at the moment to dress it up better — I haven’t got the chops for a proper guitar solo. Still, it was worth it to play and sing it again; my voice was feeling a little funny with the ol’ allergies kicking in, so I ended up having to play it in a lower key than usual, which was really strange, too. I really love the music that Gillian Welch and Dave Rawlings make, and I wish I had the skills to play lots and lots of it. Sadly, I’m not there yet, but maybe someday I will be if I practice. (That’s how you get to Carnegie Hall, after all…)

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, covers, Garage Band is the BOMB. Bookmark the permalink.