365 DotU, Day 87: Imperialism!

It’s been a while, eh? Busy, busy, busy — that’s me!

One of the highlights of this busy, busy time was a show that I played with Josh and some friends (Andy and Brooks and Scott) at The Gathering Place last Saturday. It was huge amounts of fun, and we finally got to hear our originals played up to their full, rocking potential. So cool! This did, of course, require effort, which meant that I couldn’t spend any time on coming up with cool covers to learn. Oh, well.

I did, finally, get my cover act together tonight, and decided to just cruise through a tune the band played on Saturday (one that Josh and I have played often before): Neil Young’s Cortez the Killer. It’s been covered by a lot of people, and unfortunately I don’t have the guitar chops to make it as truly epic as it should be. For epic versions with which I am at least tangentially involved, see the Laura & Josh (& Friends) version from last Saturday. It has also been done with a slightly more modest sound (although it is no less epic, and in a medley with “Method Acting”) by Gillian Welch and David Rawlings (my personal favorite version of the song). It’s a fascinating song on a number of different levels, and it’s always cool to play and sing.

So, of course, I made it kind of lame. It isn’t too bad, though. I wanted to feature the violin a bit, so I did. I had originally added a bass part, but I did something stupid in Garage Band and lost it, so we just have to make due with what’s here. I feel a little rusty, actually — I haven’t recorded anything in such a long time!

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, Garage Band is the BOMB, Laura and Josh, YouTubification. Bookmark the permalink.