365 DotU, Day 88: Makin’ Lemonade

To celebrate the occasion of my voice being utterly useless (bronchitis is not my friend), I decided it might be time to tackle an instrumental or three, what with having not kept up with the ol Challenge very well of late. Whoopee.

*cough*

There are roughly three fiddle tunes that classical violinists who get out and about amongst the non-classical folks find themselves routinely asked to play (usually by people who don’t really get the difference between fiddlin’ and playing the violin, but who do know a few tunes they like). I am still working (still!) on my Devil Went Down to Georgia challenge, and I haven’t got the fiddle chops for any Orange Blossom Special stuff yet (fiddlin’ is NOT EASY, people. Let no one tell you otherwise). Today’s offering, instrumental only, is the third of the Fiddle Triumvirate, the favorite of every Ken Burns Civil War documentary junkie: Ashokan Farewell.

Because I am apparently unable to drive 55 (musically speaking), I sped it the hell up, added a guitar and a 2nd violin, and made a bouncy ol’ mess out of it.

I blame the drugs.

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, Garage Band is the BOMB, YouTubification. Bookmark the permalink.