Open Letter to An American-Made Wolf Whistler

Dear American-Made Wolf Whistler:

Please believe that I do appreciate the novelty of your attention this afternoon. I have been hooted at by wankers of all descriptions, asked impertinent and inappropriate questions, subjected to random and uninvited commentary on my personal appearance, and accosted as all women can (unfortunately) expect to be in this particular culture. Apparently, Walking While A Woman is something that demands offensive masculine display, and many are the men and boys willing and able to engage in the practice.

I can honestly say, however, that in my long years of dealing with various degrees of street harassment and silly Y-chromosome displays, that I have never been whistled at by a truck. Whistled at by dudes in a truck? Sure. By the truck itself? On purpose? With a proper, obvious, whoo-whoo whistle sound? Never. I had no idea that trucks could do such a thing, although the existence of TruckNutz suggests that it was bound to happen sometime. It was absolutely unique.

Well played, hooting wanker. Well played.

(no)Love, Me.

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in hooting wankers ahoy, open letter. Bookmark the permalink.