365 DotU, Day 93 Prefers One Agonizing Rip To A Series Of Slow, Painful Jerks

I am, essentially, the laziest gal in town. Here I am, ever-so-slowly making my way through the ol’ Challenge, and all I can come up with to learn to play is a bunch of 3-chorders that I’ve already learned in one way or another. So lazy!

Take today’s song, for example: Ben Harper’s Please, Please Me (I know, I know, I have the title wrong. This is how I think of it, and today I’ve decided not to be scrupulous about accuracy). I’ve performed it before with Josh (I usually sing backup and occasionally try to figure out a violin approximation of the guitar riff), but I thought it might be interesting to take a shot figuring it out for myself. I like the song, and it seemed within my reach, more or less.

LAZY.

Hell, I couldn’t even be bothered to learn it right.

I had to change the key to make it singable by me (which was hard to do — apparently, there aren’t a lot of keys available for this song that I can manage to yodel in), and I biffed the riff rather a lot. I suppose I could’ve tried to learn it properly and maybe get the break solo right, but…
LAZY.
Not Forever Lazy, mind you. I draw the line at clothing that makes grown persons look like Dr. Seuss characters.
One has one’s standards, after all.
About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, covers, YouTubification. Bookmark the permalink.