365 DotU, Day 99 Would Like Several Reasons, But Will Settle For One

One of the covers that’s stuck with me through playing with lots of different people is Tracy Chapman’s “Give Me One Reason,” a sweet ol’ bluesy groove of a song that’s usually cool for both the audience and the players. It just makes me smile to sing it.

Usually, when I play it with Josh or with the jam band, it rocks along something like this. For today’s entry in the challenge, though, I had to figure out how to play it by myself, which presented some — ehem — difficulty. I am fortunate enough to play with some really terrific guitar players, you see, which generally spares me to need to do anything stringy on a song like this. They get to do neat stuff, I get to sing, and we all let ‘er rip. It works. Figuring out how to make my very, very limited guitar skills do the job for this song was embarrassingly hard.

I finally decided (because I am too damn lazy to learn to do it properly) that I would rearrange the thing a little. Thus do our limitations define our art (heh).

Yeah. I seem to have come over all rockabilly or something. I’m still figuring out things like palm muting and whatnot, so this was actually a really BIG stretch for me, but it wasn’t as bad as I was afraid it would be. Fun for me, anyway!
About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task. Bookmark the permalink.