365 DotU, Day 100 Has The Milestone Blues

Whew! Took me long enough! Only 265 songs to go!

*faints dead*

AAAAnyhooooo…this week, I’m working on learning some different strumming skills, so I decided to focus on the blues. Yesterday’s offering (which I’ll probably perform much differently than the version I posted, now that I’ve had more time to think about it) got me started on a simple blues in E, which I’ve been using as an easy starting place so I can start thinking right hand instead of left for a bit. I’ve got a long way to go, really, on this pickin’ stuff, but simple little blues songs are good practice, even if it does mean that this week’s stuff is all going to sound pretty much the same.

For today, I chose a song that Bonnie Raitt (gingers REPRESENT!) rocks the ever-loving fuck out of, “Love Me Like A Man.” Did you click the linky? Did you? We aren’t going on until you make with the clicky.

I can wait.

No, seriously.

Go hear it. Go remind yourself that Bonnie Raitt is a fucking blues goddess on the guitar. Go learn it for the first time, if you never knew before, that this woman has mojo like nobody’s got mojo.

See what I mean?

OK, now on to the inferior homework attempt! I cannot play like that. I can, however, try to figure out a way to play the song, so that’s what I did. There are a few different versions of the lyrics (welcome to blues songs 101), and I think I don’t like the version I used very much, but it turned out less craptastic than I thought it might. I do love singing this song…and I probably could’ve made it a bit better if I hadn’t committed myself to recording it in one crappy take. Still, it’ll do.

Stay tuned for more weirdo blues attempts (including a run at a couple of bluesed-up jazz standards) in the days to come. Woohoo! I am lamentably mojo-deficient, but it’s a lot of fun, anyway!
About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, covers. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 365 DotU, Day 100 Has The Milestone Blues

  1. teledude says:

    Oure love! What a great way to start the morning.

    Like

Comments are closed.