365 DotU, Day 104 Caps Off A Week Of Being Mental

Just to keep this simple: Gillian Welch is awesome. There is no point in arguing with me about this, because I will simply refuse to listen. So is David Rawlings. They’re individually and collectively brilliant. They just write some good damn songs!

So, in a mental mood after Day 103, I decided to try a simplified and shortened version of “Dark Turn of Mind,” a stunner off of GW’s most recent album, The Harrow and the Harvest. I had to change the key to fit my vocal limitations and leave out all of the terrific guitar work in the break and the harmonies (no time to work it all out, really), but it still turned out to be more or less listenable.

I say “more or less listenable” because this song was the unfortunate victim of my impatience. I just didn’t feel like doing all of the work to set it up properly and do several takes, so there’s a LOT of extra noise in the track: clicky dog feet, the dishwasher’s rinse cycle, traffic, etc. Let’s just pretend that all of these sounds make the song somehow more genuine, spontaneous, and authentic, shall we?
Oh, hell. Just go listen to the original artist. It’s more than worth your time. That’s what I’m going to do!
About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task. Bookmark the permalink.