365 DotU, Day 123 Thinks You’re Swell

I’ve always had a soft spot for that sweet old swing stuff. It just works for me, in ways that some other forms of music don’t. There’s a kind of joyful energy about the best of it, infectious and driving and lively, that I can’t resist. It makes me wish I could really dance (as opposed to having public seizures on a dance floor, which is really what I do most of the time). It also makes me regret never becoming competent on a wind instrument. There is nothing in the world like a really, really hot swing band.

One of the songs I really adore is a fun bit originally written for a Yiddish musical in the 1930s: Bei Mir Bist Du Schoen. Perhaps the most well-known version is the one the Andrews Sisters recorded (with English lyrics by the amazing Sammy Cahn and Vic Schoen). Oddly enough, though, one of my favorite versions of the tune is the one Janis Siegel recorded for the film Swing Kids — I love it not only for her voice, but because the studio players she sings with are great. It’s just a terrific rendition of the tune instrumentally, long before she ever sings a word. They’ve got a clarinet player who rocks the hell out of that song. Of course, the gold standard for the instrumental performance of this song is the inimitable Benny Goodman Orchestra (to whose arrangement the Siegel recording owes an obvious debt) — I love this live recording with Martha Tilton on vocals. Listen for the trumpet break at about 2:35 (with the clarinet joining in). I love this thing. The winner for awesome vocal version (plus a great band) is, obviously, Ella Fitzgerald. She breaks into occasional scat-duets with her wind players, and it’s gorgeous.

Of course, I don’t have a swing band in my pocket (hurhurhur), so in order to cover this tune I had to come up with something a little less amazing and a lot more manageable. I opted for acoustic guitar, vocal, and a little viola. I really, really wish I could have had more time (and better time, really) with that klezmer fiddle player I once got a short lesson from in college. I just haven’t quite got the chops for this sort of thing, although I don’t blow it too badly. I did flub the words a bit, but I liked the take so much it just didn’t seem right to ditch it over a little mistake.

Sadly, I cannot sing in the Andrews Sisters’ key — I needed to mess with it to make it singable by me. It was pretty satisfying to do it my way, though!
About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, Garage Band is the BOMB. Bookmark the permalink.