365 DotU, Day 127 Has Come Over All Jazzy

I admit it — I got all inspired by the Jazz and Blues Festival in Cherokee this weekend, and sat down and looked for jazzy tunes to try out the pipes on.

Problem 1: Effin’ jazz chords, man. Jaysus.

Solution: Fake it with the capo! (This is, apparently, the only trick this pony knows. Hey, it works.)

Problem 2: Which lyrics?

(This is a problem because the tune I chose, Rodgers and Hart’s “Bewitched, Bothered, and Bewildered,” a) originally appeared in the musical “Pal Joey,” and had both a first appearance and a reprise with slightly different lyrics, and b) different recordings of it by people like Ella Fitzgerald and Frank Sinatra made adjustments of their own, c) the lyrics were bowdlerized for the sake of public morals, so the original, cheerily smutty content was often replaced with something else in recorded versions.)

Solution 2: Edit! Edit like the wind!

Result:

I kind of love this song. I decided to leave the smut in, which is awesome. Come on, you know it is. Don’t lie to yourself. I can’t say I’m entirely satisfied with how I recorded it, but it isn’t too bad for a quick attempt.
About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task. Bookmark the permalink.