Time To Let It Go…

So I finished recording and writing the songs, fine. I just couldn’t stop, though. I’ve been fussing with the recordings. I think I’ve finally got them to “passable demo” status. Here’s the new, re-mixed, re-mastered, re-messed-with “album”:

I think that, ultimately, the best thing to come of this whole process really is what I’ve been able to learn about recording. I still have a very long way to go before I am even marginally competent, but I’m starting to feel more comfortable with the mechanics of the business. I think I’m finally ready to start messing with Tracktion or some other mixing software that doesn’t hold my hand quite so kindly as Garage Band does. Learning is exciting!

OK — now on to something else, for real. FOR REAL!

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in February Songwriting Challenge, Garage Band is the BOMB, music, Scenes From The Road. Bookmark the permalink.