365 DotU Has Returned to UkuleleLand WITH A VENGEANCE

So, as I mentioned in the last entry in the series, I’m working on some songs for a little project — lullabies, sweet stuff, that sort of thing. I decided I was going to follow three rules for this one:

1) All songs will be performed with only ukulele and voice. No added stuff. No percussion, no harmony vox, no bass, no guitar. I’m coming over all Vedder on this one.

2) In the recordings, my goal is to get them all to sound as much like each other as possible, mix-wise. I’m trying to figure out settings on the board and in the program that will create consistent sounds.

3) I’m also trying for a sort of sloppy, live-ish sound in the recordings. No (or very little) echo or reverb, not a huge amount of compression, no getting picky about background noise. The idea here is to create a kind of immediate and personal sound, like the music is being played to someone over the phone (admittedly, a pretty good-sounding phone, I hope) or on a scratchy old record or mixtape.

It’s a pain in the ass. Why do I do this to myself? ARGH! My annual late-summer insomnia is, at least, resulting in something amusing.

Today’s entry (no video, just a Soundcloud link for now) is a folk tune that isn’t as old as people seem to think it is: John O’ Dreams, written by Bill Caddick (using a tune from Tchaikovsky). I picked it out more or less at random from a songbook. My version’s a little…militant, I suppose, in terms of tempo (certainly compared to the Christy Moore version I linked above). I’m a pretty limited ukulele player, so this is what you get. I ended up really adoring the song as I learned it, though — it’s absolutely gorgeous.

It’s close enough to my Somewhere Over the Rainbow recording that I can’t complain too much. Also, I love the song no matter what.

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in 365 Days of the Unoriginal, A Monumental and Daunting Task, Garage Band is the BOMB. Bookmark the permalink.