Supernatural Conversations With Small Dogs

Buddy stares fixedly at one corner of the dining room, and then suddenly sprints through the living room and up the stairs. Eventually, he comes slowly back downstairs and stares at the corner again.

Me: What’s going on, Bud? Puppy zoomies? I’m sorry we didn’t get to walk today, but I’m not feeling well —

Buddy: Shhhh! Don’t you see it? It’s right there!

Me: [looking at the corner] What? Do you need me to check something? What do you see? Crap. Do we have mice or something?

Buddy: NOOOOOOO! [sprints upstairs again. Scrabbling dog feet can be heard on the upper floor for a few minutes before Buddy returns to stare at the corner some more]

Me: OK, this is just weird. What the heck is going on, Bud?

Buddy: IT. IS. A. GHOST. Get the salt and the iron! Call those two really tall guys with the weirdly codependent relationship, the ones from that TV show you leave on for us when you go to work! They know what to do!

Me: You’re…wait. You’re seriously asking me to call the Winchesters to save you from a ghost in the dining room.

Buddy: IT. IS. A. GHOST! SAVE US FROM IT, FOOD LADY!

Me: How about some dinner instead?

Buddy: Dinner? Oh, sure. I could eat.

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in Conversations with Small Dogs. Bookmark the permalink.