A Streetcar Named "Titanic"

I count myself extraordinarily fortunate in more ways than I can name. I have a wonderful, supportive family, a job I love, a home I love, my health (more or less), the whole nine yards of blessings. Yet nothing drives home how fortunate I am in my community more than days like today.

My basement, at the moment, is a rather poor indoor wading pool (about 4 or 5 inches deep). It started filling at around 10:45 or so last night, and was just tapering off at 3AM when I gave up and went to bed. Because I wasn’t able to get my pump to work, I was left with the cheery prospect of the functional equivalent of bailing out the ocean with teaspoons — using a shop vac to clear too many gallons of standing water (not really a good one-person job, by the way).

Because I am a loud complainer via social media (hey, everyone needs a talent!), I aired my grievances with nature and homeownership on Facebook. My community came to my rescue, with offers of help from more than one incredibly kind and generous person. I had just arranged to borrow a pump from a friend (Thanks, Swasti! Thanks, Josh!) when one of my retired colleagues (Saint Ken!) suddenly showed up at my door with two pumps ready to go. A job that could have taken until my own replacement pump arrived tomorrow will now only take most of the day, and will be a LOT less exhausting, stressful, Sisyphean, and awful.

My gratitude is boundless at this moment. I am so fortunate in my community. They have helped me repair toilets, repair faucets, and a dozen other things. I could not ask for better, and I feel so profoundly indebted to them all that I hardly know what to do, other than offer my own help in return when needed. Oh, and possibly a beer.

Back to the ocean I go…

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.