Two Random Iowa Travel Observations

1. While newscasts and other public address forms in the United States typically prefer presenters with generically Midwestern accents, the recorded announcement voice at Des Moines International Airport is distinctly UK-flavored (like, BBC-presenter, “Mind the Gap” UK-flavored). I have no idea why.

I do, however, automatically mind whatever gap is available (sometimes imaginary gaps), just because it seems like I ought to whenever she speaks. I have even contemplated the explanatory gap, just to keep my hand in.

2. There are hundreds of highway exit signs to assorted pairs of small-to-middling towns that would make absolutely brilliant sources of character names for oddball fiction and/or aliases for cons (or character names for oddball fiction about cons using aliases).

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in random stuff, travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.