Stoic Week 2014: A Warning, A PSA, A Personal Note…

Yup. I’m doing it. Stoic Week 2014. I’ve even managed to get my current majors to do it, too (which should be interesting).

Why?

Well…

1) I really do believe that philosophy, if it does not somehow serve life, isn’t much worth taking seriously.

2) It’s been a pretty stressful year so far, with more stress yet to come, and it seems to me that I could do worse than to try this particular approach to getting my head on straight.

3) I actually enjoy reading and talking about Stoic philosophy, although it’s not really my AOS. It certainly bears on the things in which I do specialize (I maintain that talking about Kant without acknowledging his interest in both the Stoics and the Epicureans is a mistake).

So — be prepared for things to get especially navel-gazey all up in here for a while (for a week, duh!), starting Monday. I plan to blog at least a little about the experience.

If you want to read the entries day by day, here they are:

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Saturday

Sunday

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in Philosophy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.