What’s Up With Nebraska?

I ask because it is the state in which both of the following things have happened in living memory:

1. A woman recently attempted to sue “all homosexuals,” asking the court to declare that homosexuality is a sin. (The judge tossed the case out without hearing it, and “declined to allow [the plaintiff] to amend her complaint.”)

2. A Nebraska State Senator (with, apparently, a slightly better grasp of theology and a vastly superior sense of humor than the above plaintiff) sued God for causing natural disasters in 2007. Interestingly (and disturbingly), in this case the plaintiff was openly using the lawsuit as a form of protest in response to another lawsuit (one he regarded as frivolous): a woman suing a judge for prohibiting her from describing what happened to her as rape or sexual assault in the case against the man she identified as her assailant.

Seriously, Nebraska –what is UP with this?

[I know that not all Nebraskans are identical or believe identical things. I do not mean to imply otherwise. I’m just asking, you know, WHAT IS UP WITH THIS STUFF HERE?]

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in random stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.