Summer Project, Part 4: What’s In A Name?

Today, as I went about my weeding, I discovered My New Favorite Name. Friends, I give you Octavius B. Frothingham (1822-1895), who must have briefly been in the running for The Most Interesting Man In Boston once upon a time.

OctaviusPic

Apparently, the “B” stands for “Brooks,” which makes this even more awesome. People just don’t name their kids Octavius Brooks Frothingham nowadays. Such a shame!

As it turns out, Mr. Frothingham was a notable Unitarian minister — indeed, he was well known as a “radical” Unitarian, against slavery before it was cool to be anti-slavery, a big Darwin fan, anti-supernatural, and for a while in his life even anti-transcendentalist (obviously not the period during which he wrote this book). He gave grand and popular sermons and was a fairly prolific writer.

None of this should be surprising, though. With a name like that, how could he not be sort of amazing?

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in Adventures in Collection Management, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Summer Project, Part 4: What’s In A Name?

  1. Bob Ferguson says:

    Where are you weeding and what happens to the weedees?

    Like

Comments are closed.