I’ve got a little list…

Top Five Awesome Things About My Recent Surgery

5. The anesthesiologist actually laughed at my Walking Dead jokes.

4. In fact, pretty much everyone I met at the hospital enjoyed my act. Thanks! Y’all were a great audience!

3. You know that bit where they roll you into surgery, start the engines on your anesthesia, and tell you to count backwards? Yeah. I don’t remember any of that. Clearly, in addition to having a terrific sense of humor, my anesthesiologist is brilliant.

2. Hospital swag! Seriously — they sent me home with a tub full of cool stuff, including this charming contraption:

HospitalSwag

This thing is all about making you suck.

Who knew there’d be prizes? Nobody told me about the prizes! Why didn’t anyone tell me about that?

1. It is now actually impossible for me to be hysterical (assuming one takes the origins of the word seriously) except in the comedic sense. Take that, sexist schmucks!

About L. M. Bernhardt

For a good long while (15 years or so), I taught philosophy at a little private university in northwest IA, and occasionally branched out into playing music, dabbling in photography, experimenting with food, and writing nonsense on my blog. The philosophy teaching part ended in 2017 (program elimination via prioritization), but never fear! I've just finished my MLIS at San Jose State University, and I'm currently on the market looking for new adventures in either philosophy or LIS. Otherwise, I labor to support my dogs in the lavish manner to which they've become accustomed.
This entry was posted in random stuff, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.