365 Days of the Unoriginal, Day 19: Slow Burn Week Smolders

Well, it’s probably going to be more of a combination of “slow” and “crash and burn” this week, really, but I’ll do my best to get things posted. Busy busy busy!

Today’s adventure in sound was (for me) a little exercise in coming up with a score for multiple violins. I’ve always loved Leonard Cohen’s “Dance Me to the End of Love”, and it seemed to me that this song, of all songs, would be an excellent prospect for a cover involving no guitars whatsoever. Gotta get back to my fiddlin’ roots, yo.

Ehem.

Anyway, I broke down a set of guitar chords to create the violin score, studied the original and a couple of covers to figure out some of the breaks and get percussion ideas, and this is what I ended up with. It’s a bit sloppy, I think, but it sort of works (even without some of the real charm of the original).

The drum fill and bass are all courtesy of Garage Band, and turned out better than I thought they would. I was running short on time, and didn’t want to work out a live bass line myself, so it was wonderfully convenient for me that GB had just what I wanted! That percussion Jam Pack turns out to have been a decent deal after all. Huh. Who woulda thunk it? The violin(s) and vocal(s) were captured by the condenser and then liberally messed about with on the computer. I wanted to make it all bit creepier, and I think I succeeded in that, anyway!

About L. M. Bernhardt

Deaccessioned philosopher. Occasional Musician. Academic librarian, in original dust jacket. Working to keep my dogs in the lavish manner to which they have become accustomed.
This entry was posted in A Monumental and Daunting Task, covers, Garage Band is the BOMB, YouTubification. Bookmark the permalink.